Academic choir of Moscow state University named after M. V. Lomonosov — Russia’s oldest Amateur choir in 2017 he was 242 years. In June of this year, the choir performed at the great hall of Conservatory named after P. I. Tchaikovsky’s “Requiem” V. A. Mozart.

The Moscow state University chorus — the original team that consists of more than 100 people, of whom about 80 are included in the main concert composition. The choir’s repertoire consists of more than two hundred works of Russian and foreign classics, folk songs in different languages, as well as contemporary works. Recently the choir has performed works of large forms, together with the leading Russian orchestras.

The choir of Moscow state University is associated with many outstanding names in the history of Russian musical culture. P.I. Tchaikovsky dedicated the choir of Moscow University work “Blessed is He Who Smiles” words by Grand Duke Konstantin Romanov; in the choir, began his creative path of the famous Russian singer Leonid Sobinov.

Artistic Director and chief conductor of the choir is the honored worker of culture of the Russian Federation, Mirza Askerov. The chorus comprises students, staff, and alumni from different faculties of MSU, as well as lovers of choral singing. The team actively participates in the cultural life of Moscow state University and Moscow’s students.

MSU choir successfully gives concerts on prestigious stages and consistently for many years using the audience’s love and respect of professionals.

Over the past decade, the team has repeatedly performed at such venues as the State Kremlin Palace, the Great and Rachmaninov halls of the Moscow Conservatory, Svetlanov and Chamber halls of the Moscow house of music, Concert hall named after Tchaikovsky, the columned hall of the House of Unions Concert hall of the Mariinsky theatre, Grand Philharmonic hall, St. Petersburg, Primorsky theatre of Opera and ballet, and Austrian Brucknerhaus (Linz).

In 2015, the choir participated in the events dedicated to the Pact of N. Roerich, in the Austrian United Nations office in Vienna.